As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being.

What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

Job satisfaction is believed to be an important aspect in one’s self-satisfaction and overall good life. To be satisfied with a job it needs many things to be met and it's a matter of debate whether a job satisfaction exists or not.

So how do we define job satisfaction or which elements are vital for a good acceptable job? Firstly the individual should be enrolled in a job where he could find himself mentally satisfied. A job that provides a sense of fulfilment rather than long hours of repetitive boring tasks and pays well is a desired job for many. A job that has a social status, pays well and gives freedom to an employee is often said to be the best job. Some other important factors like adequate holidays, other compensations, learning opportunity, career growth, a decent boss, nice colleagues, job security and nice working environment are often considered to the most important aspects of a job for employees.

A nice job should guarantee the employee training opportunities and progress. For example training courses that enable the employee to gain new skills and experiences that would help improve his career and therefore benefit his workplace and his community as well. Finally, the individual should have a job that gives him the feeling of loyalty to his employer or his company and hence security.

Since job satisfaction and expectation of employee change with time, it is almost unrealistic to define a job which is perfect and completely satisfactory. While some people are unsatisfied in their jobs because of poor payment, others complain about the future prospect. Even these criteria met in a job, people would start finding new reasons not to be satisfied in their jobs. That’s why it’s quite unrealistic that each and every employee would be happy in their workplace.

In a nutshell, there are some common factors like salary, respect, learning opportunity, work environment and job security that could be motivating aspects for job satisfaction but it is quite impossible for all employees to be happy in their job environment.