Motorways help people travel quickly and cover long distances but they also cause problems. What are the problems of motorways and what solutions are there?

Motorways are becoming the popular ways to travel to destination in a shorter time and this can even travel for a long distance. However, this has been insufficient attention paid to result multifarious problems. The most obvious problems are the environmental aspects that cause various health hazards for the general public. Therefore, the local authorities can initiate congestion charge policies or other alternative methods to solve this issue.

Motorways are the easiest ways to travel to mainly metropolitan areas from rural areas and which can cover for the long distances at faster time. However the increase use of motorways has created several issues and how to reduce such usage has becoming a major concern for the government. Since problems have arisen with this method, alternative solutions have had to be researched.

The environment will be the primarily affected by this, because it results in global warming. All vehicles are dependent on fossil fuels which substances being released as a toxic chemical that are causing multifarious environmental hazard. However, perhaps the most apparent annoyance for general public is the nuisance that results from the traffic, noise, the dust and the unpleasant odours emanating from the motorways. Due to this, the world is suffering from the numerous viruses such as ZIKA, yellow sands and bird flu. Thus, the immediate solutions should be sought.

To solve this issue, the local authorities should impose congestion fees. In the UK, for example, after the announcement of congestion fee policies, the number of vehicles using of motorways have reduced by half in 2014 to 2015. By forcing the public to restrict the use of motorways, people will use more of public transportation and which can result in lesser number of vehicles on motorways as well as healthier environments.

Alternatively, the government could provide more alternative public transportation to cover long journeys for a shorter time to get rid of personal drivers from the motorways. This will encourage people to use of public transportation instead of their personal vehicles. Thus, this approach can reduce the problems caused by motorway usages.

In conclusion, despite the convenient and faster travelling to the destination, the motorways create various health and environmental issues. Therefore, it is important to find the effective solutions to tackle this issue. Impose of congestion fee policies and the improvement of public transportation can affect the number of vehicles using motorways.