Museums and art galleries should concentrate on local works rather than showing the cultures or artworks from other countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Cultural museums and galleries play a major role in a country's economy. It is opined by some people that local culture and art should be given more importance in these places instead of displaying foreign artworks. From my perspective, museums and galleries should focus more on domestic art thus assisting local people economically and socially.

It is undeniable that by displaying local artworks a vast array of jobs can be provided to local artists which would curb unemployment. This is because, art galleries and museums could attract more tourists by representing a nation's culture. To exemplify, according to a survey of The Times, a large proportion of foreign people prefer visiting countries with rich heritage. Therefore, not only tourist industry would proliferate but also artists would benefit.

Furthermore, young generations could also learn about their culture through local museums and galleries. If a nation's culture would be given more recognition at such places, the interest of children and teenagers to know their own heritage would grow. For example, cultural tours organized by educational institutes would provide them and insight to their cultural history. In addition, students who are interested in art could get encouraged by local works and acquire their skills.

To recapitulate, concentrating more on domestic artwork would significantly provide more advantages to a country's economy by creating a job market. Moreover, young people learning their nation's past and talents of artists of their country would enrich cultural heritage. In future, these people can contribute hugely in keeping cultural art alive.