These days some people spend a lot of money on tickets to go to sporting or cultural events.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, sports and cultural events are playing a major role in entertaining people. Whether the expenditure on attending such events is advantageous or disadvantageous is open for dispute. From my perspective, spending money to watch live shows has more cons than pros.

Admittedly, those who are enthusiastic about sports and have an urge to gather knowledge about their culture can both enjoy and learn from sporting and cultural events. Moreover, cultural events can be better enjoyed when people participate in them rather than just watching on screens. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that the sky-high prices of tickets for attending the tournaments and functions could be afforded only be rich people without any financial problems.

Although organizing companies and sponsors can benefit by earning during these events, middle-class individuals can suffer. This is because, exorbitant prices of tickets could put the buyer in debt for temporary enjoyment which is also possible at the a significantly lower cost. To exemplify, a vast array of cricket fans purchase tickets for world cup tournaments to enjoy the matches at stadiums, that can be relished at their homes on TV without any irrational expense. Due to irresponsible spending some people have to work overtime later on to pay the price, thus causing poor work-life balance and stress.

To recapitulate, the post effects and financial issues can hamper lives of middle-class population, therefore, the benefits of spending astronomical amount to go to sports and cultural events, which are particularly acute for affluent population and organizers, are outlaid by the drawbacks.