Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an ongoing controversy regarding whether it is much better for museums and art exhibitions to display indigenous history and culture. Although I partly concur with this opinion, I would align myself with the notion that these sites also should exhibit traditional artefacts of other nations.

On the one hand, a vast array of factors has motivated me to partly advocate the former perception. Firstly, prioritizing to show the native tradition at museums and art galleries serves such a fundamental role in preserving national conventional values. This is because when visiting these places, visitors are capable of acquiring a thorough understanding of their own nation’s custom through works displayed. Therefore, they are able to cultivate a sense of responsibility in terms of how to preserve and promote these orthodox values. Furthermore, placing more emphasis on exhibiting the history and culture of their own nation could spur the patriotism in local inhabitants. For example, when visiting Vietnamese History Museum, situated in Ho Chi Minh City, residents can gain a deeper insight into milestones like wars or historic victories that this nation underwent. It can lead to the fact that they can be more accountable in protecting Vietnam from being invaded.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling justifications convincing me to concede that cultural works of other nations ought to be exhibited at local museums and art galleries. The first reason stems from the fact that this practice can assist local citizens in broadening their minds with international traditions. This could be perfectly exemplified by the fact that masterpieces, created by some prestigious artists like Da Vanci or Van Gogh, are exposed in Vietnamese Museum, creating a conductive environment for art students to gain in-depth knowledge relating to classical styles in Europe. Moreover, this practice could connect all nations in the world together owing to the fact that knowing other countries’ traditions can facilitate mutual understanding and sympathy among nations. As a result, countries are able to fortify their cooperation with others.

In conclusion, explicitly, it is indisputable that devoting focus to exhibiting national history and culture at art rooms and museums can give rise to a great number of auspicious repercussions; nevertheless, I want to assert that it is necessary for these sites to take the customs of other countries into their account.