In the new millennium, the crime rate has hit a new record in some of the metropolitan cities.

In the new millennium, the crime rate has hit a new record in some of the metropolitan cities. Regarding this, it is claimed that lawbreakers should be kept in a prison for a longer time span or rehabilitated them via the community service instead. I personally agree with the latter proposal, due to the fact that not only the expenditure of imprisonment could be avoided but also criminals could assimilate new skills and benefit their fellow citizens.

It is true to say that authorities have to allocate a great amount of revenue in order to look after criminals in a prison. As a case in point, in my country, the average expenditure of each prisoner per month is around $300, which is too much by considering a number of all prisoners. In such a context, lengthy jail could be quite expensive for the government and the burden should be shouldered by the taxpayers. In addition, around 65% of the offenders have spent some time in jail before, which shows that sentencing cannot deter them from recommitting new crimes. Therefore, it is obvious that lengthy jail is not a practical solution to be applied before reintroducing lawbreakers to the community.

On the other hand, if criminals are re-educated and spent considerable time in various rehabilitation programs, it is quite likely that they find an occupation after this period and do not recommit again. It is mainly due to the fact that they are exposed to new knowledge and can learn vocational skills, which can apply to earn a living. Statistics show that nearly half of the offenders which spent time in the rehabilitation classes do not commit a crime again in my hometown.

To sum up, by my reckoning lengthy sentencing only increase the expenses and would waste the public revenue, while via the rehabilitation programs criminals could gain new skills and do something beneficial to the welfare of their citizens and find a job.