New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

It is true that modern technologies have altered how the younger generation spend their leisure time. This trend introduces both pros and cons, but I would argue that the drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, it is clear that the use of digital devices in free time has some positive impacts on children. Firstly, technological gadgets are highly entertaining for children’s lives. Such devices have eye-catching images or compelling sound effects which are appealing to schoolchildren. Besides, several electronic games offer youngsters rewards encouraging them to keep playing after a hard day at school. Therefore, new technologies afford children the opportunity to relax and temporary escape the tedium of schoolwork. Furthermore, children would probably learn more social skills which are necessary in the modern workplace. When they play games with multiple players, cooperation between their team members enables them to devise strategies to solve their problems quickly. Thus, those gadgets make schoolchildren well-prepared before they leave school.

On the other hand, I believe that there are some obvious negative aspects that would arise. First of all, younger generations would suffer from health risks that are associated with gaming. Because they sit in front of the screen for hours on end continuously, they are prone to myopia. This action also leads to a sedentary lifestyle which causes obesity and heart attack. Another disadvantage is the addiction to modern technologies. Children tend to be obsessed with images of games. As a result, they would lose their attention in their classroom and underperform socially and academically. Certainly, spending a significant amount of times playing games does more harm than good.

In conclusion, I finally hold the view that the drawbacks of using digital tools have stronger effects on schoolchildren than the advantages.