New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Leisure activities of children now-a-days, has been replaced by new advanced technologies, as we can find children spending most of their free time playing video games, reading e-books, watching videos on internet. Although, there are advantages of using technological devices by children, as they learn many innovative ways and informative games, the disadvantages are more as it affects health of the child.

When children spend their recreation hours sitting in a place on a computer, mobile or video game, their physical activity is reduced which might lead to health problems like obesity, vision is also affected due to continuous exposure of eyes to screen. In contrast, socialization is reduced as the child spends time sitting indoors. On the contrary, he might suffer from loneliness as they may have no friends due to lack of socialization, which might effect the child emotionally, and eventually, he/she might get addicted to technology which might cause loss of interest in studies.

Some people think, it is important to expose children to modern technology as it is an advanced way of entertainment and provides a lot of informative knowledge, and makes children smart because they play and learn many things which increases their interest and keeps them updated with upcoming information. For instance, when a child reads e-books, his reading skills are developed and fluency in language is increased as they try to learn new words and their meanings. However, I think young generation should take part in tradition games like kho-kho, kabadi, kite flying, etc which keeps them physically active and socialized as it increases their self-confidence and encourages leadership qualities in them.

In conclusion, it is crucial for a child to spend time with his/her peer group as they develop many soft skills like communication skills, socialization which help them develop personally.