New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do
the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?
The way children spend their leisure hours has been altered by advancements in technology. Although
this can detrimentally affect their overall health, I believe that its benefits such as accessing information more
easily and boosting their creativity are more significant.
On the one hand, the tendency of children to utilize technological devices in their spare time has an
adverse impact on their general well-being. More specifically, many of the activities that children engage in with
technology are sedentary, such as playing video games or using social media. This can lead to reduced physical
activity, which in turn can contribute to health problems such as obesity and poor vision. Furthermore, children’s
mental health can be badly affected. Since they often spend an excessive amount of time using digital devices in
lieu of interacting with others in person, their interpersonal relationships would likely be weakened.
Consequently, they become socially isolated and suffer from mental issues such as depression and stress.
On the other hand, using technology in leisure time can be beneficial to children for two reasons. Most
noticeably, technology has made it easier for juveniles to access information on a wide variety of subjects. To be
more specific, they can use search engines, educational apps and online libraries to learn about topics that
interest them. This can help to broaden their knowledge and foster their passion for learning. Another
justification is that it enhances creativity. This is because there are many digital tools and apps that allow children
to express themselves. For instance, they can show their artistic side by using video editing software and digital
art programs to create and share their own works of art or videos, which can be a source of pride and satisfaction.
In conclusion, although technological advances can pose a threat to children’s holistic health, I maintain that
they can offer more noticeable advantages such as easy access to information to broaden their knowledge
and promoting their sense of expression. It is advisable that children should be allowed to use technology in
their study and personal lives under parental supervision to mitigate its demerits.