New technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

The way children entertain themselves during their leisure time has changed dramatically due to the impact of the advancement of technology. While this development may bring about some benefits, I would argue they are eclipsed the drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clear that letting children use electronic devices in their free time would bring back several advantages. One evident strength is that technology provides a source of educational entertainment for children through which children can both be entertained and learn new knowledge necessary for their future. For example, by playing games kids can develop their thinking ability, by listening to music they can learn another language like English. Another reason is that new advancement can also provide children with many online courses so that they can choose the courses they want to learn.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are some obvious disadvantages to not letting kids use new technology for fun. First, spending too much time on these devices can lead children to become addicted to them and become passive. It means that if parents do not recognize and prevent their children, they can completely develop autism. And when that happens, tt will be hard for children to integrate into the community and express their feelings. Another reason is that the use of new technology can also negatively affect health for children when through prolonged exposure to electronic screens they can easily caught some problems like mytopia, astigmatism,…

In conclusion, there are plus points to the idea that new technologies provides many benefits for children to entertain in their free time. However it seem to me that it disadvantages would be more important regarding to the lack of life skills, the lack of emotion and the minus point for health issues.