NEW TECHNOLOGY HAVE CHANGED THE WAY CHILDREN SPEND THEIR FREE TIME. DO THE ADVANTAGES OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

It is true that advances in technology have resulted in changes in young children’s recreational activities. Despite some obvious drawbacks of this trend, I strongly believe that these are outweighed by the advantages.

The first major disadvantage is­ the lack of time for physical development which plays an integral part in maintaining a healthy lifestyle for humans. this means that if children devote much of their free time to playing with technological devices, including mobile phones and computers, instead of doing exercises and playing sports, they are likely to be suffered from health problems. Take obesity as an example, this is a popular disease among children caused by sitting in front of the screens for hours on end without doing any physical activities to burn calories. Furthermore, due to excessive reliance on the internet as well as the virtual world, young generations gradually have s no connectivity with their community. With some children, for example, face-to-face conversations are rare or they even do not stay in constant touch with their nearest neighbors, which apparently isolates themselves from society.

However, I believe that the pros are more significant than such cons. The most important reason for this view is that new technologies, especially the internet, encourage younger people to use their free time to broaden their horizons. In addition to news or articles, information is currently delivered through a various forms, including animated videos, short clips, interactive software and so on, due to for which transmission of knowledge seems to be more lively and interesting. Consequently, this shows the ability of technology to raise passion for learning in youngsters as well as support them to use their leisure time properly. My younger sister, for instance, is eager to spend hours on Youtube learning about animals, languages and numbers ever day by herself without any supervision from her parents.

In conclusion, although using technology for entertainment may cause some health problems as well as affect the ability of communication, the upside of this trend to promote the habit of self-study in the younger is more significant than these disadvantages.