In today’s time where there are countless number of news channels and news editor there is waging war between them who has the fastest and best exclusive news available at any given point of time. I completely opine with the thought the chief editor plays a deep role in making decisions about which news type of news to broadcast due to various factor. In this essay we will discuss how people are more interested in bad news and how things can change if good news was reported.

“Negativity sells” this is today’s mantra for every news editors. These chiefs are generally aiming to get the highest TRP ratings or highest number of copies sold and hence they are constantly looking for something which will garner interest of everyone and thus make a fortune out of it. Apart from this people also are more interested to know about negative news which inturn aligns with the editors thoughts. To exemplify the amount of coverage ISRO scientist got during the successful launch of Mangalyan was much lower that the next failure mission.

On the other hand, if good news is reported on frequent basis there would be an overall development in people’s mindset. They would be having positive outlooks for everything in life and this rather will help the nation progress. Apart from this some news can be really inspirational and thus influencing millions of people. For example the news about struggles of Hima Das winning 5 gold medals in matter of 15 days was inspiring and it might have influenced many girls to take the sport.

To conclude with news editor should report every type of news in detail and there should be right balance between both positive and negative news.