Newspapers are less important nowadays because we have up-to-date access

to the news on the internet.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary life, newspapers are playing a less essential role than ever before because we have approached up-to-date information on the internet. Personally, I both agree and disagree with this statement due to some reasonable facts that I will discuss below.

Firstly, there is no doubt that, when considering teenagers or juveniles, the internet is more important than newspapers. Children can now have access to social media and wireless networks much earlier than their parents and elderly. Moreover, the internet is shown to be very easy, convenient, and efficient when it is served as a means of entertainment or education. Furthermore, with a portable internet-connected device, we can absolutely receive the latest news in all paces of life. Actual videos can be posted on the internet to provide users with the best images of that happening.

However, for the older generation, the opposite may be true. In many countries, the newspaper becomes an indispensable part of people’s lives and it is also one of the national identities. For centuries ever since the paper was invented, people had a habit of reading newspapers in the morning or whenever they had free time. Notwithstanding, older people feel it too difficult to keep pace with our steadily changing world. Many of them are even afraid of the unknown or have no clue what the internet is.

In conclusion, although the internet brings us a myriad of advantages, especially in approaching news, newspapers cannot be therefore neglected.