Not so many people use a bicycle although it has many benefits Why How to encourage people to use bicycles as a main transport

It is true that there are a growing number of people who do not opt for using bicycles despite clearly knowing the advantages of that. Some reasons can be stemmed for this phenomenon, and some solutions can be proposed to improve the circumstance.

On the one hand, people choose to use cars, motorbikes or trains over bikes. This is because a lot of individuals having hectic schedules do not have much time to cycle from accommodation to the workplace. They tend to use vehicles that are faster to save time. Another factor is that since the development of the world these days, a lot of vehicles have been updated to be more convenient and quicker. They just need recharging by gasoline so that they can run through the week, for instance: personal cars, motorbikes, buses, so on. And there is no doubt that people opt for using those types of means of transport. As a consequence, there has been an increase in air pollution and traffic jams.

Fortunately, some approaches can be taken to encourage people to use bicycles as their primary vehicle. Firstly, businesses should reduce the workload for employees, and increase salary for those who cycle from home to the workplace. Secondly, each individual had better raise awareness about the detrimental impacts of air pollution and traffic congestion on their health, and deeply understand the merits of using bicycles which have beneficial effects on not only health but also for the traffic improvement. And finally, the governments should raise taxes on petrol, so that people will use bicycles more.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are a variety of reasons for the fact that people do not choose bikes as their means of transport in spite of knowing its benefits, and some steps could be taken to solve this trend.