Now children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time doing sports. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, children tend to spend much time on playing computer games and barely do some sports. At the same time, there is some uncertainty as to the reasons of this phenomenon, and how it might influence children. In this essay I will examine the phenomenon and seek some possible effects.

To begin with, in regard to reasons, it is undeniable that the children are more willing to play computer games because they are interesting. For example, computer games include vivid pictures, intriguing plots and fantastic sound effects, which largely capture young player’s attention. In addition, the lack of sports facility basically discourages children from doing sports. To be specific, the distance between the communities and the stadiums is too long, which prevents children from doing physical exercise regularly. This is because they are not willing to waste too much time in the road.

On the other hand, as to the bad effect on children themselves, playing excessive electronic games will reduce their academic performance, as it is easy for kids to be addicted to the virtual word and pay no attention to their study. Furthermore, sitting in front of the computer for a long time also does harm to children’s health, since the sedentary lifestyle causes students to be more vulnerable to disease, such as spine problems and obesity.

To summarize, there is no doubt that the attractive computer games and the absence of sports equipment result in the phenomenon of children spending much time playing electronic game and little time doing physical exercise. At the same time, however, this behavior may give rise to the poor academic performance and spine problems and obesity on children themselves.