Space research is a waste of money. The government should spend money on improving conditions of people living on Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many may hold the view that the government should invest money in better living standard on Earth rather than outer space exploration because exploring outer space is a waste of money. At the same time, however, there is a body of opinion which claims that space research is necessary. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that the government should better medical services on Earth, since it can alleviate the long-standing problems, such as low quality of medicine, lack of professional doctors and outdated medical devices. In addition, the nation ought to provide students with more education opportunities, as better education can help students to learn professional knowledge with great ease and to be armed with employable skills, which can further allow them to survive and thrive in the society.

On the other hand, however, engaging in space research can help the government find a planet hospitable to humans in the future, which is the best way to solve the over-population on Earth. Furthermore, although there will be a chance in a million that scientists find another planet like the Earth, they are more likely to discover new energy resources, which can solve the current issue of energy crisis.

To summarize, there is no doubt that it is significant for the government to improve people living standard, while outer space exploration can also benefit the government. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that countries should solve all the problems on Earth before they explore the universe.