Animal exploitation has long been an ethical controversy, and it seems unlikely that both supporters and opponents of this theory will find any common ground. There are diverse viewpoints on this topical debate, and I will discuss them in this essay.

On the one hand, many people are convinced that human beings and other living species on Earth are of equal importance. From an ecological perspective, they believe that each creature plays a certain role in harmonizing the ecosystem, and it will be contradictory to teach children to respect the environment while we consider other creatures as inferior ones. Moreover, it is a proven scientific fact that animals, especially higher mammals can feel physical and emotional pain; hence, it is morally wrong to capture and treat them as mere objects.

On the other hand, other people point out the essence of using animals for medical purposes, and it is ultimately for the sake of humanity. Firstly, while it is fatally perilous to test the efficacy of any medication directly on humans, animals appear to be the most suitable objects because many of them bear genetic similarities to humans. Secondly, animals possess antibodies and medical substances which are essential for medical treatments. For instance, the antidote for life-threatening rabies is extracted from horse serum, and cow tallow derivatives, namely glycerol, are used in vaccine manufacture. Moreover, the media or animal welfare organizations, to some extent, tend to exaggerate and horrify the image of animals being examined in laboratories. It might be fallacious to consider medical experts as slaughters or animal haters while they are devoting their time and effort for the sake of our health.

Overall, despite the moral questions about the ethics of animal testing, I subscribe to the theory that it is the optimum choice for clinical trials and observational studies.