Nowadays both men and women spend much money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results?

In this modern era, more and more male and female expend a lot of dollars to personal care products than some decades ago. There are several causes and considerable effects that I will elaborate more below.

Regarding the causes, current employees, particularly men, carry out various treatments because each job demands them to meet beauty standards. At an earlier time, appearance and facial beauty were the last requirements in some fields which those becomes paramount in professions such as steward and male beautician. Furthermore, in favour of the reduction of fine line and wrinkles, women aged over 40 have a strong desire to be ageless and crave on compliments in public. Noticeably, South Koreans are willing to spend big-budget around $700 a month to purchase the best anti-aging products (SK II and Estee Lauder).

Turning to the effects, hampering modern society notches up prospect career in expressing more both their self-complacency and creativity. Mostly men are better of being self-concept with sideburn and longhairs. Sadly, this would hinder their career rocketing, even seizing greater opportunities. In addition, the use of chemical cosmetic in long term brings about not only detrimental skins but also environmental issues. One of the dangerous ingredients is Pareben as artificial preservatives in cosmetic and body care products. Consultant dermatologist, Dr Ophelia Veraitch, states that those could potentially lead to cancer formation and harm to marine life believed to damage and kill coral.

In conclusion, the causes of excessive expenses to beauty treatments both sexes rather than few years ago are the significant job requirements as well as the flawless skin achievement. Meanwhile, the knock-on effects include hindering individuals’ future career and inflicting both citizen’s serious health issues and ecosystem disruption.