Nowadays both men and women spend much money on beauty care. This was not so in the past. What may be the root cause of this behaviour? Discuss the reasons and possible results?

It is believed that genders (males and females) expend a lot of dollars to personal care products these days rather than few years ago. There are several causes and considerable effects of this phenomenon which I elaborate more below.

Regarding the causes, to meet beauty standard, current employees, particularly men, carry out various skin treatments for ones’ career prospect. Compared to decades ago, today’s appearance and facial beauty are the paramount requirements to apply for professions, such as steward and male beautician. Furthermore, modern society has been aware of not only maintaining healthier body, but also choosing proper consumption for healthy skin. During post-COVID-19 era, approximately 55% Dutch population, the changes of eating habits along with physical and mental positivity have brought the better lifestyle.

Turning to the effects, the long-term use of chemical cosmetics can endanger the environment (marine ecosystem) through waste-water which ends up in the ocean. Proved by the US researchers who found Paraben - one of an artificial preservative of cosmetic ingredients - in the tissue of dolphins and sea otters. In addition, in favour of reducing fine line and wrinkles, women aged over 40 can develop gerascophobia, fear of ageing, because of eagerly restoring youthful skin by splashing out money on skincare trends . Noticeably, South Koreans are willing to spend big-budget around $700 a month to purchase the best anti-aging products (SK II and Estee Lauder).

In conclusion, the causes of lavish spending on beauty treatments both sexes nowadays are following recent job qualifications and the attentiveness of healthy body image. Meanwhile, the adverse effects include biodiversity changes as well as the fear of getting old.