Nowadays consumer goods have become the most important part of people’s lives.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Undoubtedly, final goods have become the main characteristic of modern lifestyle. As a result, there is an argument over the issue of whether this new trend has been more positive or negative. Although some people laud the convenience it has brought to lives, from my standpoint, their detrimental impacts on both the individuals and society are far more considerable.

First of all, it is an undeniable fact that purchasing consumer goods to excess culminates in a laziness among the individuals who never did experience sedentary lifestyle in such extent in the past. Diseases such as obesity, high blood pressure and cardiovascular problems have boosted recently, as the result of putting work to be done by final goods such as washing machine and microwave. Admittedly, life wouldn’t as convenient as now if consumer products didn’t reach this dominance, which are the symbol of a more affluent life. The aforementioned consequences as well as other predicaments such as lack of concentration (made by recreational products such as TV), nonetheless, undermine the sparse disadvantages.

Even more disturbing, though, final products exert a negative influence over society. Taking a materialist approach to the life, people put a noticeable value on purchasing the most luxury goods which are available at the markets to enhance their social status. Thus, there has been a completion among members of society to shoe their prosperity and stand out on every crowd. Due to this attitude, financial issues are going to be the pivot on which happiness turns, leading to serious mental disorders such as anxiety and depression.

By way of conclusion, buying consumer products is a prevalent trend which cause physical and mental problems for not only the individuals, but also society. Hence, in my opinion, its drawbacks overshadow the few upsides.