Nowadays consumers are faced with the advertisements from competitive companies. To what extent do you agree that consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures should be taken to protect them?

Individuals are significantly influenced by a variety of advertisements due to the consumerism society, and I agree with this situation and argue that it leads to negative impacts on consumers. In my opinion, the problem can be tackled by introducing a number of measures.

Consumers are bombarded with advertisements every day, which negatively influences their sense of values. Firstly, it is evident that numerous advertisements mislead customers to make wrong decisions. This is an influential fact that competitive companies provide different appealing promotions or discounts for consumers, thus they being impulsive to purchase unnecessary products without further consideration. In addition, individuals usually spend a large amount of money on unworthy goods owing to deceptive advertising. For instance, statistics from Taiwan’s government show that the motivation for Taiwanese people to purchase luxury goods is because of celebrity endorsement instead of trusting functions of goods.

Indeed, these problems can be solved once the government introduces strict policies. It can start with the regulation of the context of advertisements. The authorities can establish punishments such as penalty, punitive tax, or prohibition of selling products for these companies delivering misleading advertisements. Secondly, advertising companies are required to have clarification of product statements by utilising product labels. For example, health supplements are not allowed to be advertised by celebrities in Taiwan but asked to identify ingredients in them. In other words, customers are not easily swayed by the advertising.

In conclusion, although there are negative impacts on customers who receive advertisements in their daily lives, I believe that these problems can be addressed by implementing effective solutions.