The increase in food production owes much to fertilizers and better machinery, but some people think that it has a negative impact on human health and community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that whether modern means of increasing food production can be beneficial to human healthy and society. While a group of people indicate that these methods could carry out disadvantages and I partially agree with this perspective, I argue that the latest ways of producing food can positively impact people’s lives.

The innovative means of food production could negatively influence people’s health and the place where they live on. It is evident that a large amount of pesticide or fertilizers use has gradually damaged individual’s growth and environment. Indeed, these types of chemical materials discharge toxic materials, resulting in the deterioration of soil and the human immune system. For example, Taiwanese government states that the determination of agricultural chemicals has become a severe issue as famers unlimitedly utilise fertilizers and pesticide monthly in order to immediately harvest a larger quantity of vegetables or fruit. In other words, the earth and humans constantly absorb fatal chemicals.

However, the invocation of modern technology for meat production surely benefit people and the world. Firstly, food safety can be fully addressed by introducing new technological products, improving standards of individuals’ hygiene. For instance, food can last longer and keep fresh in fridges, reducing possibilities of food poison. In addition, working in food industry is less risky than before. This is due to the fact that individuals are well protected by advanced machines at work. Robotic arms are implemented to slaughter livestock animals, leading to the reduction of risk in workplace in Taiwan.

In conclusion, although the ways of food production can result in negative impact on human beings and society, I still believe that they indeed bring a variety of advantages to people’s lives.