Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the method of distance learning has been widely implemented in education industry. While a group of commentators argue that this innovative teaching strategy would bring disadvantages to the society, I believe that the advantages of the distance learning outweighs its disadvantages.

There are two main reasons why individuals have disapproval in the distance learning. Firstly, it is evident that students are easily driven to distraction while accessing the internet. Numerous parents have concerns about the effectiveness of children’s learning through the distance learning as students might open the second window and browse other websites during distance lessons. Secondly, a lack of motivation for studies could ensue from the distance learning. This is predominantly because student might not value the importance of studies once this new learning method is rather convenient for them. For instance, a majority of undergraduate students in Taiwan become passive learners and feel less motived to attend each lecture.

However, the development of distance learning can bring more advantages to the world. Indeed, this new technology can solve the issue of unbalanced educational resources in rural areas, providing equal education for underprivileged students. In northern part of South Australia such as Whyalla or Port Augusta, students now are capable of learning the second language through distance learning. In addition, students will benefit from this modern learning method as they can experience diverse pedagogical strategies, which can maximise the effectiveness of learning. Students in developing countries such as Africa, in particular, are able to gain advanced and academic knowledge from USA.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the distance learning can result in more advantages to improving education than its disadvantages.