Some people believe that the government should support the funds for the arts, while some other people suggest that money should be used for public health and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have differing views with regard to question of whether the government should prioritise the art investment or finance medical systems and education. While a group of people argue that the funds from the government should be used for art, I believe that the investment in public health and education is more beneficial.

There are a variety of reasons elucidating why the government should place an emphasis on art development. It is evident that learning art can improve individuals’ thinking in philosophical and spiritual ways, further strengthening a sense of creative thinking skills. This is because when people visit art galleries, they could unconsciously gain in-deep knowledge of art works and a wide range of drawing techniques such as the colours or the textures utilised by artists. For example, numerous adolescents in Taiwan indicate that the unique and remarkable inspiration generally ensues from the observation of art.

Nevertheless, I believe other government investments can bring more advantages to individuals. Firstly, lengthening life expectancy has become the primary target for most people. Provided the government is able to enhance the current public health and reduce risk of fatal diseases such as AIDS, brain cancer, or heart disease, citizens can spend more time with their families, with them not feeling anxious or worried about their lives. In addition, investing money in education is vital as learning is recognised as a fundamental skill, increasing more possibilities of career exploration. For instance, the unemployment rate has plummeted in developing countries such as Africa and underprivileged students are able to gain tertiary education due to the educational subsidies from the government.

In conclusion, the government might need to spend money on the art industry, I still believe investing money in other areas should be the main focus.