Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity (those teaching programs that involves the use of written materials, videos, televised lessons and the internet), but some people argue that courses can never be taken as good as those by attending a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Distance-learning programs have gained great popularity with more people finding it very convenient. Some people consider this approach an alternative to attending lectures in person, which, however, cannot effectively replace going to universities. This is true for students. But I think for those who are occupied doing other things such as working online courses are better.

Students on these programs may not get satisfied leaning outcomes. As there is limited interaction between students and lecturers, students might not able to ask questions in time. Consequently, they may misunderstand about some concepts. Besides, assignments or quizzes that the university provides to their students will not be given in distance-learning programs, so students on this program cannot get feedbacks about their academic results.

In addition, students who conduct online study might be distracted by external factors. Unlike face-to-face lectures, online courses are based on the internet, in which students might be affected by unrelated websites and lose concentration. They have to stay focus with no supervision, and if they failed to do so, their efficiency would self-evidently get lower. Therefore, taking an online-program is less effective unless they have strong self-control ability, which is rare on university students

On the other hand, distance-learning programs enable people to study whenever and wherever. This benefits many people who do not have time to go to universities, because they can make their own class schedule. For example, through distance-learning programs, new mothers who still want to receive professional education can take care of their young children meanwhile studying without going to other place. Further to that, those people usually have strong self-motivation and self-discipline, so it is likely for them to stay concentrated during class and learn effectively.

In conclusion, distance-learning programs benefit many people by providing learning resources online who do not have time to attend university courses. Students should go to universities for studying online is likely to be inefficient for them.