Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, tourism is becoming one of the spearhead industry, especially foreign tours, in many countries. Many people think that this industry is likely to cause conflict. However, I believe that international tourism greatly facilitates understanding between people of different cultural background.

In fact, there are many visitors arrived in a strange country, they were shocked by local culture. With a typical example, many Western tourists are shocked to learn that Vietnamese eat dog meets. After that, some people understood and though it was a cultural feature, while others said they would never come to Vietnam anymore until there is a ban on dog meat consumption. Another example is Chinese tourists' inappropriate and selfish behaviour during a buffet in a Thai tour destination a few years ago. Even though these examples did not speak the rest of the Western and Chinese populations have this way of thinking and behaving, as a matter of fact, it has also created tension between the countries involved.

However, travelling abroad is not only a great way to relax and reduce stress but also have the opportunity to experience different cultures and traditions in an authentic way. Travellers would enhance their understanding of other culture and they can learn useful skills after every trip instead of just sitting and studying through books. There is a famous saying:" The world is a book and people who do not travel only read one page of the book". In addition, it is a good opportunity for countries to introduce their unique culture to international friends, thereby improving and conserving long-standing cultural values.

In conclusion, overseas tourism allows tourers to experience various cultures and therefore connects everyone through mutual understanding. I think that we should not judge the industry based on a number of conflict situations caused by a group of individuals.