Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

International tourism has been highlighted as an emerging, escaping broader public attention for its ramifications on different cultures. Although tensions ensuing could be possible, this pattern still norishes mutual understanding between people of different cultural backgrounds.

On the one hand, it is true that international tourism could result in cultural tensions. First, since some tourists from other nations have a penchant for ignoring or even insulting the customs, religious beliefs of the host nation, cultural clash could occur. For example, many individuals from western nations often show disrepect for historical sites with religious significance by vandalizing statues of higher deites, causing hatred and antagonism among locals. Second, some tourists are less likely to accommodate to the insitutions and social norms of the foreign nations, which could be associated with the cultural misunderstanding. In fact, many tourists are horified by the oppression against homosexuality and woman empowerment stemming from Islam interpretation in many Middle Estern nations, leading to the formation of false prejudices against Islam religiosity when it comes to the human rights abuses.

On the other hand, international tourism can be associated with the promotion of cultural understanding between different cultures. Specifically, tourists could have real deeper insights into the daily lives of the local citizens, which could eliminate the negative perspectives against that nation, leading to the betterment of cultural intermingling. For instance, if many Westerners visit Vietnam, they would realize that Vietnam is actual a stable nation with high economical development coinciding with the abundance of historical sites and cultural practices, clearing the false potrayals of Vietnam as a poverty-stricken nation with the communist oppression.

In conclusion, internation tourism could promote mutual understand between many peoples of cultural and ethnic backgrounds rather than inciting tensions and clashes. By being more aware of customs and social norms of the host nation, international tourism could be the optimal medium to bridge the gaps between different cultures.