Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not be able to pay their debts back. In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divided whether the use of credit cards should be encouraged. In my opinion, while there are drawbacks to the use of credit card, I believe it brings about much more benefits.

There are a lot of advantages to the use of credit cards. Firstly, people can access to money and the facility to pay it later, like a loan. This could extremely useful for emergencies or something expensive, like a holiday. Secondly, credit cards act as if they are wallets. You can use the card instead of cash to buy stuffs suddenly. The direct benefit of this is, to prevent losing money and avoiding robbery, when losing credit card, you can just call to the service provider to shut the card. Finally, when people pay comfortably, the amount of money will spread out everywhere in the country. This could make an advantage in term of economic.

However, although there are so many advantages in using a credit card, we still need to be attentive to some disadvantages. Firstly, if we use credit cards unaware, we will be in a situation of overspending because we spend money in the future that we do not have. Next, when we are in debt, we need to pay back both loan and interests which interest rate is extremely high, 20-25 percent a year. Some people are in a cycle of debt because they can not afford to pay those money. Eventually, these people are going to lose their home and assets.

In conclusion, credit cards provide us more advantages depending on how well we understand the consequence of using it.