Nowadays it is easy to apply for and be given a credit card. However, some people experience problems when they are not able to pay their debts back.

In your opinion, do the advantages of credit cards outweigh the disadvantages?

Although, thesedays, people can easily apply for and afford a credit card, some of them have bad experiences when they cannot pay their debts back. In my opinion, credit card can still be considered as a good choice because of its benefits.

There are two main drawbacks of using credit card. First, people ought to pay lots of different fees during using process, even, they have to pay some unexpected fees which have not been notified before. For example, one of friends had to pay annual fee from the second year in using credit card and she did not know that company free that fee in the first year only. Next disadvantage is overspending. It is very difficult to manage expenditures for some individuals because they rarely check notifications about their bills or balance. Therefore, they buy things without management and gradually create a giant debt that they cannot pay back.

On the other hands, I think that there are several advantages of using credit card. It is true that bringing only a credit card can be much safer than carrying “a bag of money”. For instance, a credit card can be quickly cancelled if the owner lost his wallet to ensure his money in the account. In addition, when people need to cover unforeseeable costs but they donot have enough cash, they can use the credit card instead and repay them then.

In conclusion, whereas there are still many disadvantages, I do believe using credit card can bring more benefits for people, especially in emergency situations.