Nowadays, it is possible to move ocean creatures from their natural habitat at sea and have them relocated is amusement parks for the purpose of peoples’ recreation.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Explain your reasons and support them with specific examples.

There is not even an iota of doubt that global warming has led to a near extinction of quite a few aquatic species from planet earth. Many a places around the world has themed parks reserved for marine life, where they are provided shelter; however, they are also used as a muse for humans. Although, shifting fauna of the sea from their natural biome into closed spaces might have certain benefits such as repopulation of endangered species and absence of scouting for food, it does not go without saying, that there are also certain drawbacks to it.

To initiate with the benefits of relocation of ocean creatures. First and foremost, movement of fishes such as dolphins and alligators has spared them from being devoured by their predators. To be precise, these endangered species are a part of the food chain and their existence is of great value. In other words, repopulation of these species had better be done because if any link in the food chain is missing, it will lead to a catastrophe. For example, according to a journal published by Wildlife Authorities of India, in 1992, should they not have moved the Long-nose Alligators from the jungle to a fish sanctuary, it would have been extinct by now. Second to this is the fact that these creatures do not need to search for food as they are fed in a timely manner if they are in the care of humans. Hence, it would not harm the fishes if they were relocated and used as an amusement for humans, unless they are not at risk.

While these marine animals are moved from their natural habitat into man-made containment zones, there could be some issues with it. Primarily, relocation of these creatures if done in their early life would hamper their social behavior. To explain this, fishes when separated from their herd find it difficult to develop natural instinct which they would if they had stayed with their parents. Take dolphins for instance, a survey showed that dolphins who grew in the sea naturally knew how to use their nose to sift sand for food whereas their counterparts did not. However it is important to preserve the natural surroundings of these fishes and preserve them from dying, but only so much can be accomplished.

To reiterate, although relocation of the aquatic fauna can be mentally challenging for them, this had better be done to save them from extinction eventually and as for human entertainment, it should not be much of a trouble, should these fishes be treated properly.