Nowadays it is possible to use computers and mobile phones for automatic language translation, and there is no need for human translators and interpreters. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Computers are used in various ways. Some people use them for work others for school. One can also use computers to communicate with people from all over the world. Some people think that because of those translators, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. In my opinion, learning a new language is never a waste of time.

Firstly, learning a new language is a form of self-improvement. It will never be a waste of time. When one knows a foreign language it is easier to communicate with other people. If one wants to use a translator, one must have access to the internet. There are places in the world without an internet connection. In those situations, there is a problem if you want to speak to somebody who uses a different language. In my opinion, learning a foreign language is necessary when one runs a company. Having to communicate for example with one’s clients by a translator during a meeting could be embarrassing. In some circumstances, it could even discourage people from doing business with a person who needs to use a translator when setting a contract.

Secondly, computers that translate are not always accurate. there are usually grammar errors. If one knows the language one must always check the translation because there are sometimes mistakes. What is more, translators often use basic vocabulary which in some reports does not sound good.

Lastly, learning a new language gives more opportunities to get a better job. Nowadays, international communication between brands is crucial for better sales. Knowing more than just one language is a huge advantage. Companies prefer people who are fluent in a couple of languages.

In my opinion, learning a foreign language is not a waste of time. It will always improve one's confidence or even memory. Moreover, it gives an advantage when looking for a job because knowing different languages is wanted by companies.