Nowadays it is possible to use computers and mobile phones for automatic language translation, and there is no need for human translators and interpreters. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Due to the development of technology, computers and mobile phones are able to automatically translate languages. Hence, the human translators and interpreters are no longer necessary. However, I strongly disagree with this statement.

Firstly, technology development is made by humans, same for technology translators. Automatic language translation is created by human translators and interpreters to satisfy people when they do not understand the meaning of words, phrases, or paragraphs. This is because there are not enough human resources to translate every single thing people need. However, if there is no human translator, there is no one able to examine the information from the technology translator. Hence, the creation of automatic language translation is for helping people, not replacing people.

Alongside with that, human translators and interpreters have a significant role in global conference. It would be informal if everyone sitting in the conference is using their phones to translate words. In this situation, human resources are more reliable as it shows respectful towards speakers. For example, when Chinese representative and Vietnamese representative had a meeting, it would be better if there is a translator for both sides instead of each representative using their own phones. Therefore, human translators are more important in some situations than automatic language translation.

In conclusion, I totally believe that even though translation applications can translate automatically, we still cannot ignore the value of human translators and interpreters.