Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that open-space designs has been adopted by a lot of companies recently, hence the gradual disappearance of the traditional structure. Despite some obvious benefits of this new installations relating to cost and empty space, it is my deep conviction that its drawback in terms of productivity cannot be easily outweighed.

Undeniably, this conventional method of designing has some certain merits for the offices, especially in budget and layout. The first advantage of this design is cost reduction. Instead of erecting thick walls to seperate different units, the employers can replace them with glass panels which are cheaper and help alleviate the expenditure for construction. The corporation can also benefit from open-space design since it improves the layout of the offices. This method makes the offices look not only modern but also spacious by demolishing the walls which take up a large space.

Despite the merits mentioned above, the drawbacks of this method are undeniably more significant. An obvious disadvantage of open-space offices is distraction. Having no walls means the employees are aware of the events happening around them, some of which catch their attention easily and it takes a considerable amount of time to get back to focus mode. This will undoubtedly alleviate the efficiency. Another drawback of this design is the lack of privacy. Some people prefers working in private areas as they can focus immersely on their tasks and are not under supervision. Therefore, the lack of privacy may also results in reduction in productivity as well. Since a company should take productivity as their top-priority, these disadvantages totally outweigh the benefits.

In conclusion, although open-space design does play a role in helping the company reduce their cost and improve the overall layout, the problem relating to productivity still presents. Therefore, as long as there is a solution to this, the disadvantage cannot be easily outweighed.