The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There have been suggestions that there should only be a general government that takes control of every country. From my perspectives, although there are some merits of this idea, the consequences of it would totally outweigh the benefits.

It is undeniable that under the same government, there are some world issues that can be tackled such as wars or discrimination. Imagine people all over the world living under the same government system, sharing the same territory, no one would ever thought about invading another region as they are free to travel everywhere. For example, in the past, the desire of large territory of Germany led to the World War I and II. However, if people lived in same territory, there would be no more wars over lands. Moreover, when there was a single government, people would have the same nationality; therefore, racism and stereotypes would disappear for the time being.

On the other hand, although a single government can address a number of problems relating to races, there are some drawbacks that should be consider thoroughly. The government may find it hard to organize the world with an abundant amount of citizens and countries. The country with the largest population in the world, China, has only 1 billion people, at one-seventh of the world population. The world has over 200 nations with different sizes and government system. Therefore, taking control over the world sounds extremely challenging yet appealing for those people who are ambitious about empowerment. The idea of single government may reduce wars over land but it leads to wars over empowerment, which raise a new problem to the world. Furthermore, if one nation became the owner of the earth, the world would lose its diversity in government systems, which is a crucial factor to development and evolution. Different countries have different ways of lives, for example, it is hard for people who live under the socialism to adopt the way that capitalism runs the world.

In conclusion, although there are some problems that can be tackled by adopting a general government, I believe that this innovative suggestion would bring about more problems. As the disadvantages of it outweigh the advantages, we should stick to the original one.