Some people think employers should not care about the way their employees dress, but the quality at work.

To what extent you agree or disagree?

The question whether dresscodes should be eliminated in company has provoken controversial arguments. A number of people argue that employers should evaluate employees upon the efficiency of their work, rather than the clothes they wear. From my perspective, I totally disagree with this viewpoint, moreover, I believe appearance does plays a pivotal role in improving the quality of work.

For a start, dressing in formal clothes provides professional looks for the company, which is a proof for brand reputation and a factor to attract the investors and business partners. Undoubtedly, the first impression of a person about something is its appearance. Therefore, if a brand provides the first impression of a professional work environment with employees taking their jobs serious, the investors will have a favorable trust toward the company. As first impression is crucial, this will lead to future fruitful cooperation.

Another point to consider is that an promising employee need to have skills as well as good attitudes, and the way people dress displays their personalities and their attitudes toward the occupation. Appearance is crucial for not only a company, but also for a contestant in the recruitment. In fact, if you are interviewing for a job, you get no bonus point if you dress in formal clothes, but a guy in casual outfit will get a minus point, as it shows that he has no respect toward the employers and he doesn’t take this job seriously. Therefore, no matter how excellent his work quality is, there are chances he will not be recruited as his inappropriate attitudes, which can be told based on his clothes.

In conclusion, although work efficiency is top-priority in assessing an employee, appearance still play a role in the process. Therefore, dressing in formal clothes can make an employee look professional and prove the attitude of him toward the work.