Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes.

In this day and age, tourism development has had profound effects on certain aspects of a country’s economy. However, a majority of domestic residents deny the advantages of internation tourism and regard it as a problematic factor for the nation. There are a host of factors attributed to this idea as well as solutions to address this issue.

Undeniably, besides economic benefits, international tourists has inflicted certain harms on some aspects the country, namely environment and health. For a start, as the Covid-19 pandemic has broken out in the world, international tourists are potential sources of the spread of this fatal virus, hence the unwelcoming expression of the local towards these foreigners. As more and more people infected the virus, the domestic residents tend to have negative attitudes toward international tourists. A second point to consider is that some tourists, without knowledge, accidentally or unintentionally raise the environmental problem. For instance, in 2016, Quat Ninh beach in Nam Dinh recorded a mass number of international visitors; however, instead of keeping the beach hygienic, they left a bunch of trash on the sand, which is then removed by the local. This inconsiderate action leads to the negative opinion of national residents about international tourism. In short, the main reasons for the inhospitality of some people is that the worry about pandemic and the unawareness of tourists.

However, there are some possible solutions to address change the way local people view the international ones. Individually, every visitor, before approaching a country, should take their Covid-19 tested and learn about the culture and rule of that country in order to avoid unpleasant misunderstandings. They should raise their awareness and the respect for local people, the most important action is to keep the environment hygienic. For governments, they should impose regulations on traveling and activities that contribute to environmental deterioration. Step by step, as the awareness of the visitors towards the country is raised, the local will change their negative attitudes.

In conclusion, under certain cercumstances, it is reasonable for the local to have a negative eye on the non-domestic visitors. However, it is not difficult to change their attitudes, as long as the visitors are aware of their harmful activities and the governments take actions on certain conditions.