Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

In this day and age, there is an opinion raising among people that children should appear in the later stage of their life. There are a host of factors attributed to this idea and the association between having children late and society development as well as family life can be witnessed.

Nowadays, a rising number of adults choose to have children late because of two main reasons: parents working and unreliable babysitter. For a start, in the past, women were mainly housewives, which means they have more time to take care of their children. However, in the late 20th century, women have joined the workforce and female labours have become more popular. As men and women are now going to work, the more responsibility they take, the less time they have to care for their infants and some people regard career as the main priority. Therefore, they make up their mind about having children in the later stage. A second point to consider is the increase in the number of unreliable babysitters. In the past few years, there are a vast amount of video showing child abuse commited by caregivers hence the common doubt of some parents toward this occasion. In short, due to the lack of time and the decreasing reliability of babysitters, a major of people decide to postpone the process of having children.

However, this situation has raised some detrimental issues to the society development as well as family connection. When it comes to society aspect, having children late results in aged population and health problems. For example, some women have children at the age of 40 or more may suffer from severe back pain and depression, moreover, they are quite old to have children so babies often die in a short time. Under another condition, family life, having children late enhances the generation gap between parents and children, hence the lack of connection inside the family.

In conclusion, it is logical for parents’ decision of having children late. However, there are some certain effects on the society and family that should be taken into consideration.