Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

Nowadays, many people do not want to have children early when they are young. There are several reasons for this trend, and it can negatively affect society and family life.

There are two important reasons why many people decide to have children later in their married life. To begin with, giving birth later allows them to have more opportunities to enjoy a free life. In other words, when they do not have children, they may have more time to go wherever they want and pursue their hobbies. Another reason for delaying having a baby can be the fact that young people want to focus on developing their own career. Because taking care of children can be expensive, they may want to have a stable job and a salary enough to raise their children. Therefore, they tend to wait until they have earned more money to embark on parenthood.

However, delaying having a child can have adverse/detrimental impacts on society as well as family life. Firstly, the generation gap can widen when people give birth later. They may find it difficult to understand and communicate with their children, which can adversely affect their relationship in the long run. In addition, pregnancy in old age often entails potential health risks for both the mother and the baby. For instance, many research in the world show that women getting pregnant after the age of 35 can face the risk of miscarriage. Finally, on a society level, the reduction in birth rates can result in an aging population. This might lead to a shortage of workforce which can have an adverse effect on the development of the national economy.

In conclusion, people these days have many reasons to delay having babies and this tendency could result in negative influences on both society and family life.