21.5.2015: Nowadays, more and more people, decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on society and family life?

Nowadays, many new couples have clear plans for their married life, including having kids later in life. To the best of my knowledge, there are various reasons behind this phenomenon, and I suppose that the merits would eclipse the downsides.

There are two main reasons for this tendency. First of all, it relates to the increase of pressure and career paths when they have children soon. In developed societies, the labor market is increasingly competitive, so they want to spend at least one year laying the foundation for their work and future steps. If they have children too soon after marriage, they will feel pressure when the combination between looking after the children and earning for living. As a result, young people today decide to have children late. Moreover, most couples want to have stable finance and job before becoming parents. Therefore, their kids can live in a sufficient environment and develop all their abilities.

The trend exerts both advantageous and disadvantageous influences on society and families. On the one hand, when children were born late, they are taken care of by experienced parents so that they own better living conditions and better education. As a result, kids can contribute more to society. Nevertheless, parents are not interrupted in working by bringing up kids or being pregnant. On the other hand, it could both heighten the possibility of infertility among mothers in their old age and risk the newborn babies’ mental and physical health. If any complicated maternal health problem arises, the life whole family would be turned upside down.

In conclusion, I believe that pursuing a career and the needs for the best conditions for your child are factors that prevent people from giving birth at a young age and this situation would bring more disadvantages for society than advantages.