Presently world is facing the situation of pandemic in which, it has brought changes in working patterns of institutions, hospitals, commercial businesses and various other sectors. Social distancing has become the major reason for helding business meetings, seminars, trainings, etc. online, as it avoids physical connections. Hence, this essay intends to discuss the merits of this happening over the demerits.

In certain work related meetings, one on one discussion is important, which might not take place in online meet, as people are yet not much comfortable to adopt these change, also training programs are intended to teach something, and teaching is a two way process, online training can prove to be less effective in situations where the trainee is not fully attentive and interested, this might discourage the trainer too. For example, last week I attended a Google meeting training program, on skills of interior designer, trainer could not give his best as it was a question answer base training, and participants did not show enthusiasm. Such disadvantages could be overcome or avoided in longer run of pandemic situation.

On the other hand, online meetings and programs have created ease for us, as exposure to outdoor is avoided, and physical contact is restricted, which is one of the important guideline from WHO in regards of Corona virus. Also distance as a barrier is also avoided as anyone irrelevant to his location can join the meeting/seminar/webinar. For instance, painting workshop held by a well-known madhubani painter was attended by 60 artists from all over the nation, such opportunities gives equal and fair chance to everyone. This trend of online work and work from home concept was initially preached by foreign countries but now it is slowly getting accepted throughout the world.

To recapitulate, the merits are weigher than the demerits of having business meetings and trainings online. Slowly and steadily people who are not use to this type of working are also learning it. Overall it is beneficial to all of us, in order to stay healthy, as minimum physical contact happens unlike real office meetings and programs.