Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

These days, illiteracy has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although it can causes a whole host of problems, some feasible solutions can be consider by the government to address this.

There are several problems caused by illiteracy. First, since illiterate people are unable to read and write, even adding their signatures to official documents, dealing with bureaucracy is a nightmare with them. For example when people have to apply for social welfare benefits. Second, if they can not read or write, the chance for them to going to schools and learning professional knowledge is narrowed. Which means that they might to choose manual jobs in lieu of noble occupations that required a whole host of valuable professional skills, such as doctor or teacher.

However, there are some measures can be taken into account by the government to address this problem. The first solution is that if local officials have policy to employ staffs to help illiterate people to cope with fulfilling documents when they in need, the benefits and the right of them will be ensured. Secondly, basis illiteracy classes should be established in local colleges or social center, and the government should encourage illiterate people involved in. Finally, resources should be allocated for improving education system, which would help to ensure every people right to access to basis education that enables them to read and write.

In conclusion, although illiteracy is a serious problem, there are steps which the governments should take to help those who can neither read nor write.