Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, an increasing number of people opt to work for their own business, instead of participating an agency. There are some reasons to explain why this takes place, and this kind of employment will have some drawbacks.

People decide to be self-employed for some reasons. The first reason is that the modern labor market is extremely competitive. They may need to be outstanding and make a better impression than others to be selected, which can be a weakness for some who do not have an excellent competence. Therefore, to avoid competition in application process, they establish their company. That people would like to have freedom to develop their creation is another reason. If they work at a company, they must follow its directions. In contrast, in self-employment, they can take advantage of their ability to lead their business into a new path.

Although self-employment seems to be beneficial, it can pose some difficulties. Firstly, it takes more efforts to operate a company. This is because they can take over most of positions in their organizations, which can make them exhausted. My cousin, for example, is an English teacher, who decided to set up her own center instead of working for another one. She takes responsibilities of all duties ranging from a teacher, a seller to an accountant. The second drawback is that they can have an unstable source of income. At companies, they complete your duties and receive salary on a monthly basis. Whereas, if your company are under financial crisis, the resource can be utilized to solve such difficulties, your income will be affected as a result.

In conclusion, people decide not to apply for a company and set up their own business for a number of reasons, but there are a few disadvantages in self-employment which should be taken into account.