Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

People have different ideas about the effect of music on our lives. In my opinion, I partly agree with the view that music is a great way to reduce the distance between people no matter which cultures they are from, but it contributes to widening the gap between different generations.

Music is regarded as a bridge for people from different cultures since it is the universal language around the world. It expresses human emotions, such as joy, love, or sorrow. Although people do not need interpretation or translation, people can still greatly enjoy it. The reason is that the melody and rhythm of music can touch their heart and soul. Some songs of the girl group Blackpink, for example, have gone viral all over the world. Millions of their fans from different countries have listened to and shared their opinion about these songs on a daily basis. Therefore, I think music helps reduce the differences between different cultures.

However, I believe that music enlarges the differences between generations. While adults love traditional music, which has a gentle rhythm and meaningful and thorough lyrics, the young prefer modern music with a catchy tune, such as Rap or electronic one. Some older people find the contemporary one difficult to try. In contrast, the youth may assume that the traditional one is boring. For example, in my family, my father often complains to me about listening to K-pop songs.

In conclusion, I support the opinion that music can play an important role in connecting people from different backgrounds, but it can broaden the distance between different generations.