Capitalism started to thrive after collapse of communism in 1990s and triggered people to have more opportunities. Hence, many people choose to work for themselves rather than companies or organisations. However, there are also many drawbacks to run own businesses. This essay will discuss about reasons people tend to to self-employed and negative aspects.

To start with, there are two main reasons that people attempt to run their own businesses. Firstly, capitalism indeed make people incredibly rich and hence, many hope to become an entrepreneur in order to raise their revenue. In other words, they would run their own enterprise to achieve their goals as well as adequate wealth. For instance, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs and Mark Zuckerberg established huge company with help of creative idea and accomplished their goals and sufficient assets, which is great inspiration for those who would like to start their businesses. Secondly, retirees still need to dedicate for their offspring and their bright future. Thesedays, people could live longer than 80 but most of people might retire approximately mid-60s because of the lack of stamina. That may deteriorate further quality of life due to less incomes.

However, people should recognise downsides of running businesses. The most common failure is lack of knowledge of business. There are lots of external and internal factors that may devastate business and it is even struggling for whom he or she has graduated from business course in tertiary institution. Moreover, if businesses undergo hardship due to other factors that you cannot control, it will be extremely stressful. For instance, not contagious is the only biggest enemy for farmers but also natural disasters, like tornado, typhoon and earthquake, may be the causes of uncontrollable factors and hence, this would bring you bankruptcy and liabilities.

In conclusion, lots of people choose to be self-employed in order to achieve their goals or retirees run businesses for the rest of their lives. However, there are adequate factors that might ruin your business. Therefore, consideration about disadvantages should be prioritised.