Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Working is a vital part in daily life. People need to work in order to maintain and improve their life, therefore improve the nation. There are so many different types of work, and one of them is self-employed. At the current time, it is a trend for self-employees to work at their own house, rather to work for a corporation. In my opinion, there are so many reasons for this cause, and it may bring some negative impacts.

The reasons for being self-employed are vastly, but one of them is the sake of convenience. A normal routine for employees working for a company is so exhausted. He or she might has to get up early, eats breakfast then drives furiously to work. Sometimes they might encounter traffic jams, therefore causing more problems. Being late at work means that the salary will be reduced, and sometimes the living expenses can not be covered for a full month. Furthermore, overtime works can prevent them from getting back home on time, hence reducing their own health. Doing jobs at home is the solution to counter all of the above problems. Getting up early is not required, and late for work is a non-exist problem. Due to the advantages it brings, it is not rare to see the increase of freelancers nowadays.

Beside the benefits as mentioned above, the disadvantages of self-employed are also uncountable. First, working at home eventually cut off the worker’s social interactions. Offices may be a tired and tension places, but they guarantee a level of contact with others. One example for this is you have a big struggle for seeking help if you work at home, because you don’t have any work mate. Another big con is companies have these types of workers can not really control and verify their own work. Workers at home might apply their work with help from others, or even steal someone’s work in an aggressive way. If these stolen intellectual properties got figured out, companies will suffer their biggest scandal, and free employees might just fly away without a trace.

In my conclusion, self-employees should be considered in a specific and detailed way. To employ a worker to work at home, a company must have specific agreements and requirements, so they can ensure no problems will be made.