Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. What problems this causes? What are solutions?

It is widely acknowledged that there is a high level of competitiveness between young and old job seekers in the market. While this trend could trigger some issues, a number of viable solutions could be adopted to tackle them.

Job competition between the young and the old could cause some pressing troubles for individuals and the community. One of them could be that it would increase the unemployment rate among young adults, especially when vying for managerial positions. This is due to the fact that employers are often partial to veterans who are far more seasoned have visionary leadership which young workers do not possess, rendering them unable to secure a high-level post. FPT, one of the leading brands in Vietnam, perfectly exemplifies the situation. Most of its executives and directors are reported to be above 40 and have had decades of experience working for the corporation. Low-level vacancies may provide an opportunity for the youth, whereas they still have to compete with one another. Since the number of jobs is finite, some would find themselves jobless, leading to the same outcome.

Given the aforementioned setbacks, it is highly recommended that governments employ

several remedies to rectify them. One of the effective solutions is to encourage senior workers to provide both on-site and off-site mentoring and training for the junior. This move could be favorable because working with these experts would give them tremendous experience and sharpen their working skills. Vietnamese conglomerates, for example, Viettel, often see superior officers work with assistants who are usually fresh graduates. This is a boon to the inexperienced employees, as it may help them climb higher in the corporate ladder.

In conclusion, employment competition between generations could result in some issues, yet there would be a number of feasible methods to solve the problems.