Nowadays more and more young people who need employment have to compete with older people for the same jobs. Why is this the case and what can be done to solve the problem?

It is argued that in today’s world, more and more unemployed youngsters have to involve in a fierce competition with the elderly when applying for the same professions. In my opinion, various reasons have resulted in this tendency and several measures should be adopted by the government to tackle this issue.

On the one hand, I believe that there are a number of factors which push young residents into the rivalry in the job market with their older counterparts. The first reason can be a shortage in the number of job opportunities. In modern life, the young generation tends to have a preference for intellectual jobs, including entrepreneurship or medical treatment, rather than manual work. However, the senior residents are also likely to choose those professions that often do not strictly require physical health, so competition might be inevitable. The other one may be the lack of experience of younger applicants. Owing to that, employers could gravitate towards older inhabitants who regularly have more maturity and skills.

On the other hand, the authorities should implement some solutions in order to deal with this circumstance. Firstly, they should encourage the elderly to take some suitable lucrative jobs including home business or childcare. As a result, the old generation can have a steady job and earn a living, whereas the unemployed youth could get a job more conveniently. Secondly, it is probable that in several companies, retired employees tutor their inexperienced colleagues. For instance, in my father’s hospital, some middle-aged doctors instruct the newcomers, and they receive those young doctors’ salaries. Therefore, those young doctors could broaden their horizons, and then they may officially have an occupation and be paid after finishing their training course.

In conclusion, there are a host of causes of increasing competition between the old and the young in the labor market and steps need to be taken to resolve these obstacles.