Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. In order to

become integrated into society in their adopted countries, immigrants should abandon their

old ways and adapt to local customs and codes of behavior.

Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and ages, it seems that more people are immigrating than ever before, which undoubtedly raises certain questions on the integration of such newcomers. Despite valid arguments to it, I would argue that it is the responsibility of immigrants to adapt to indigenous customs in order for a harmonious community.

It is manifest that only do immigrants comply with accepted rules and codes of behaviors in their adopted country that the society’s order could be strictly maintained. Imagine chaos will arise on streets as a result of a British man driving on his left hand in Vietnam, where every driver must legally drive on their right. Two other salient examples are same-sex marriages or gambling, thus it is critical for all immigrants to obey laws in a new country regardless of any differences to ones in their homeland.

More importantly, to avoid cultural conflicts, there is a must for newcomers to show respect to local inhabitants. Though other’s culture could be strange and ridiculous to some extents, it has existed for a long time and had its own perks which might be overlooked without full consideration. Take the belief in God among Vietnamese citizens, which is often mistakenly regarded as superstition by Western immigrants, as an example. In fact, those foreigners may not understand that it is a part of the spiritual life, encouraging people to commit benefaction.

Admittedly, cultural diversity should not be underestimated as it could bring cultural booming in several circumstances. Nonetheless, this variety could lead to an accelerating tension among people of different nationalities, the primary cause of violence and gun overuse in many countries such as America.

By way of conclusion, as boundaries between two countries are prone to be blurred, the outbreak of immigration seems to be insurmountable. Therefore, extra consideration should be furthered.