Nowadays most parents put a lot of pressure on their children to succeed. what are the reasons for parents to do this? does it have a positive or negative effect on children in general?

In this competitive world, children are subjected to huge pressure from their patents who wish to see their children excel in their academics and come out with the flying colours. This essay will discuss the intentions of this behaviour and also the discuss whether it produces a positive or negative effect on the children’s life

We can think of numerous factors that are influencing parents who put too much burden on their children. Firstly, parents are setting unrealistic expectations for their own children. Because of this, children who perform moderately in academics eventually fail to meet the parent’s expectation. For instance, a child who is not so good at Mathematics cannot secure 100% results in exams. But expecting him to compulsorily to secure 100% will definitely create mental stress and eventually, it will affect his/her performance. Secondly, the education system of today’s world is not versatile enough to care about the creativity of students rather it revolves around the grading system. Since the grading system takes prominence, parents become extremely anxious about the performance of their children. The consequences of securing low grades are too much for parents to handle hence they put the burden on the children not to earn lower grades. This, in turn, affects the children’s mentality towards the education and make them take entire pressure on them.

Even though parents can justify their reasons for putting children in the pressurized environment that can create only positive effects on the children. The irony is, it is not helping the children in any fairways rather it produces an only destructive effect on their academic performance. To start with, children cannot flourish in the environment which is not supportive and encouraging. They restrain themselves from sharing their thoughts with parents, which in turn, can develop the feeling of agitation towards their parents as well as on their studies. Secondly, this would cause potential damage to the relationship between parents and children. Children will end up getting the notion that parents are no more listening to their difficulties. This may lead them to lose hope in everything, which in turn produces the detrimental effect on the academic growth of the children.

To conclude, subjecting children to the pressurized environment for achieving excellent academic results is never going to fuel the growth of the children rather it will demotivate and hinder them from attaining the fruit of success.