Some people think governments should take measures to improve the health of its citizens. Others think it must be managed by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In today's world, some think that health of the general public is the liability of the government. However, few of them also deem that the individual is held accountable for their own sound health. In my view, even though government can do propaganda or impose laws to create awareness on leading a healthy life, end of the day, it narrows down to the hands of individuals.

The government can create and impose laws to make its own people realize the importance of leading a healthy life. Firstly, it can impose a ban on the factors that are detrimental to the health of the public. For an instance, imposing a serious ban on drugs, alcohol and cigarettes will have a sound impact on the society. Secondly, tightening the quality standards for the food production and imposing inflated taxes on the junk food with the objective of preventing its consumption may produce positive results. Lastly, conducting more vaccination camps to prevent many diseases also will reap positive impact on the people. Despite the fact that, vaccines are safe and effective, some group of people restrain themselves from vaccination camps. Hence making it as the mandatory law comes is again a responsibility of the government.

In spite of the government measures to keep its nationals hale and healthy, it boils down to the lifestyle of each and every individual. It is not possible for the governing body to watch with an eagle eye on the lifestyle of an individual. People should be held responsible for their eating habits, leading an active lifestyle and restraining themselves from the consumption of drugs, alcohol and cigarettes. If they are reluctant in giving away from harmful practices, then there is a remote chance for the government to build a healthy society.

In a nutshell, there are lots of things government can do to create positive changes in the health of the individuals. However, it’s in the hands of individuals to keep themselves hale and healthy. The public should have the willingness to give away unhealthy habits and opt for healthy activities.